OCTET

Oberlin Center for Technologically Enhanced Teaching

By

Enrolling Users

How to add users to a course or organization:

1.  Navigate to the site and under the Control Panel heading go to Users and Groups.

2.  Click on Users and when the new screen appears click on the “Find Users to Enroll” button.

(Click on images to enlarge)

step-1

 

3.  Another new screen appears. This screen wants you to enter a person’s username into the search box to enroll them.

3a. If you don’t know a users’ username then hit the “Browse” button to find a person’s username.  NOTE: If you started to type in a username, then switched to this browse option, make sure the Username input box (step 3) is empty before submitting – otherwise it will not work.

3b.  In the screen that opens, you can search all users.  The first drop down menu on the screen allows you to search by Username, First Name, Last Name or Email address. Select one.  The second drop down menu options include Contains, Equals To and Starts With.  Again select one.  In the third search box, type in the name you are looking for and hit the “Go” button.  This will pull up any user that meets the search criteria you selected.

 

3c. Once you find the user you are looking for, check the checkbox next to their name and hit “Submit”.  This step does not actually enroll the user in the site yet but grabs the users “username” and places it in the previous search window.

step-2

 

6.  Now the person’s username is placed into the search box from the previous screen and at this point you can select the person’s role within the site from the drop down box.  Then hit the “Submit” button.  You should receive a green action bar at the top of your screen telling you the action has been successfully completed and the user has been enrolled.  Make sure you click the x button to close the green box.


step-3

Instructors still have the ability to enroll users in courses. However, most students are automatically enrolled in courses through an automation process with Banner. This happens twice daily, once in the morning and once in the afternoon. Unless there is a special need, instructors no longer need to manage the student list during the add/drop period. Remember that Presto (Banner) is the only official enrollment record at Oberlin College. Blackboard uses Banner to verify course enrollment and, as a result, automatically manages course lists.

The most important thing to remember is that if an instructor enrolls a student through the course, this breaks the “automation” from Banner, and the instructor will have to manage that user in the course. This is why we suggest that instructors not enroll students.

There are special cases where students may not be automatically enrolled in courses. These cases are discussed below.

Students Auditing or Oberlin High School students:

For special cases such as Oberlin High School students or students auditing your course, instructors should not add students to their courses. Please contact octet at octet@oberlin.edu, otherwise you risk losing all information for the student (grades, participation, etc) once the add/drop period ends.

Wait-listed students:

If you are an instructor who wait-lists students, you can enroll these students in the course but remember that you will have to manage this user for the remainder of the course. They will continue to have access throughout the term (like other students) until the course is made unavailable (about 2 weeks after the course ends). However, this will disconnect the automation (for these users only), so if they drop the course, you’ll have to make the course unavailable to the student or remove them completely.

Faculty

Instructors can add other Oberlin faculty to their courses, and change their role (for instance to Teaching Assistant or Instructor) so that they can have greater access to the site. Instructors and leaders can do this under the control panel heading. Go to Users and Groups>>Users then search for the user in question. Once their name appears in the search window click the drop down arrows to the right of their name. Scroll to the bottom of the page and change their role to the appropriate selection. Be sure to click submit to retain the change.

Faculty from other institutions can only be added to Blackboard by OCTET. If you are conducting research with faculty from another institution, please contact OCTET through the link at the bottom of the page so that we can create an account for them to use.

FAQs

I’ve tried to enroll a student in my course, but I can’t find them.

  • This usually happens if:

*the student is already enrolled in the course (go to Users and Groups>>Users under the control panel heading and search for them)
*the student enrolled in the course, but then dropped the course (contact OCTET, information below)
*the student does not have an account in Bb (contact OCTET, information below)


How do I change the roles for users in my course?

  • Instructors and leaders can do this under the control panel heading. Go to Users and Groups>>Users and search for the user in question. To the right of their name, click the drop down arrows. On the next page,  change their role to the appropriate selection. Be sure to click submit to retain the change.

Why is a student still receiving emails from my course even though the student has dropped?

  • The new system automatically enrolls and removes students from courses as they are added/dropped through Presto twice a day. If the course is still appearing for a student or if that student is still receiving emails from the course even though they dropped, than the student was probably manually enrolled in the course. Manually enrolling a student in a course breaks the automation, and the instructor will need to remove the student manually.

Why is a course still listed for a student even though the student has dropped?

  • The new system automatically enrolls and removes students from courses as they are added/dropped through Presto twice a day. If the course is still appearing for a student or if that student is still receiving emails from the course even though they dropped, than the student was probably manually enrolled in the course. Manually enrolling a student in a course breaks the automation, and the instructor will need to remove the student manually.

For user requests or changes, contact OCTET through email (octet@oberlin.edu), phone (x58345), or come visit us in Mudd 052!